The May 21 Primary Election was ripe for school boards across the metro, was generally unexciting, but yielded some newcomers after long-term board members did not run for reelection.

The May 21 Primary Election was ripe for school boards across the metro area, with newcomers clinching seats, several runoffs in different races, and several incumbents who ran unopposed.

Cobb County Schools (Partisan)

Candidates running for school board seats in Cobb County are running under new, highly contested maps passed by the Georgia legislature.  Since school board races in Cobb County are partisan, voters will decide between those who won the primaries in November. In Post 1, incumbent Randy Scamihorm, a Republican, will face Vickie H.W. Benson, a Democrat. Post 3, incumbent Leroy “Tre” Hutchins, a Democrat, ran unopposed.

In Post 5, incumbent David Banks decided not to run for another term. He served in this seat for 16 years. Instead, Republican John H. Cristadoro will face Laura Judge, a Democrat.

In Post 7, incumbent Brad Wheeler, a Republican, will face Democrat challenger Andrew Cole.

Clayton County Schools (Partisan)

All of the incumbents in Clayton County Schools ran unopposed. In District 2, incumbent Mark Christmas will serve in the seat for another 4 years. In District 3, incumbent Jessie Goree ran unopposed along with District 5, Deatrice Dee Harvey.  In District 6, incumbent Mary Baker will serve another 4 years.

Dekalb County Schools (Non-Partisan)

Dekalb County has three new faces who have won seats after incumbents did not seek reelection. In District 1, Andrew Ziffer defeated Austin McDonald with 58% of the vote. Incumbent Anita Hill did not seek reelection.

In District 3, incumbent Deirdre P. Pierce defeated Deidre Wright with 61% of the vote. 

In District 5 a runoff between Tiffany Hogan and Donna Priest- Brown will happen on June 18. Hogan received 43% of the vote, and Priest-Brown received 31% of the vote. Incumbent Vickie B. Turner did not seek reelection.

In District 7, Awet “Howard” Eyasu ran unopposed. Dr. Joyce Morley did not seek reelection.

Forsyth County (Partisan)

In District 2, Trish Hoyes, a Republican, will face Jessica Fleming, a Democrat, in November. Lindsey Adams (R), the current Vice Chairperson for the board, was unseated.

In District 3, Dorian Usherwood, a Republican, will face Debbie Stair, a Democrat. Incumbent Tom Cleveland was unseated.

In District 4, Republican Chris Grimes will face Claudia Wood, a Democrat. Incumbent Darla Light, who is the Board Chairperson, did not seek reelection.

Fulton County (Non-partisan)

In District 1, long-time board member Katha Stuart did not seek reelection. Newcomer Sara Gillespie defeated Lyndsey Coates with 53% of the vote. In District 3, newcomer Katie Gregory defeated Mustafa Karadeniz with 78.90% of the votes.

In District 4, Franchesca Warren ran unopposed to serve another term.

Gwinnett County (Non-Partisan)

In District 1, incumbent Karen Watkins clinched the most votes with 42% but, due to Georgia law, will face Rachell Stone in a runoff on June 18.

 In District 3, newcomer Steve Glasper secured 36% of the vote but will go into a runoff against Shana V. White on June 18, who secured 21% of the vote. There were 3 other candidates who also ran Domonique Cooper who secured 20% of the vote, Yanin Cortes who secured 16% of the vote and Anthony Mulkey secured 6% of the vote. Dr. Mary Kay Murphy did not seek reelection.

District 5 incumbent Tarece Johnson-Morgan won a majority vote of 54% in District 5 over Patrina King, who secured 24%, and Jacquelyn Evenezer-Gold, who secured 22% of the votes.

Henry County (Non-Partisan)

In District 1, incumbent Pam Nutt won her seat with 55.41% of the vote.  Four contenders (Earlene Crump, John H, Dewberry, and Cassandra Norsworthy) challenged her seat.

In District 3, Jennifer Gardner Carter won 76.31% of the vote, defeating contender Larry W. Bryant. Incumbent Holly Cobb did not seek reelection.

In District 5, incumbent Makenzie McDaniel won 55.46% of the vote against newcomers Gewel Richardson and Sheri Mimbs.

All election results are unofficial until certified by the Board of Elections in the respective counties. The General Election is scheduled for Nov 5, 2024.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.